Strong women – may we be them

Recently it was International Women’s Day. Quotes abounded about female empowerment, as women worldwide declared their hopes for their daughters and they world they would grow up in. ‘Here’s to strong women – may we know them, may we be them, may we raise them’ was the cry I heard over and over on social media.

I shed a lot of tears over their hopes and dreams that day. It breaks my heart that I will never get to raise my daughters to be anything, let alone the strong women that I dreamed they would be become.

But while I may not get to raise them, I do still get to be the woman I wanted to be for them. I still get to be the female role model I hoped they would look up to. I still get to be the example of faith and strength that I dreamed would influence them.

So for their sake – and for mine – I choose to be a strong woman. I choose to love others. I choose to love God. I choose to stand up and speak about the One who has saved me, the One who has given me life and hope. I choose to show up in my life and the life of others. I choose to be vulnerable and real. I choose to be the best mother and wife I can be.

For while I may not be able to raise my girls, perhaps instead they can raise me.

Leave a Reply

