Peonies for our girls

Art can be an incredibly special and personal way to remember those we have lost.  Sometimes the circumstances, like miscarriage and stillbirth, may mean we do not have photos that we can display. An artwork or image that captures a feeling or cherished memory can serve as a visual reminder of those whom we have loved and lost.

As our daughters’ due date approached, I knew I wanted to commission an artwork as a way to remember them. My brother is an artist, so I asked him to create something special for us. Peonies have always been one of my favourite flowers, and as they were in season at the time I gave birth to Alice and Chloe, they took on a deeper significance. Two pale pink blooms on a dark background seemed fitting, and my brother captured the image I had in mind beautifully. It couldn’t be more perfect.

Leave a Reply

