I will be with her in trouble

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress, my God in whom I trust.’

She will call on me and I will answer her; I will protect her, for she acknowledges my name.

I will be with her in trouble.

I will deliver her and honour her.

(From Psalm 91)

I wish that faith in God was a way to avoid pain and suffering. I wish that following Jesus issued us with a ‘get out of suffering free’ card. I wish more than anything that was the way Christianity worked.

However, the Bible doesn’t promise us that life will be easy or trouble-free. It doesn’t say, ‘I will take away her trouble.’ Instead, what it promises is this: ‘I will be with [her] in trouble.’

God doesn’t promise us a life free from suffering or loss or trouble… at least, not yet. I believe that is still to come one day, when Jesus returns. For now, we are living in a different reality.

What God promises us now is that he loves us, that he cares for us. He hears our prayers. He is with us whenever we face trouble. I have experienced the truth of this over and over these past months.

So whatever you are facing, know that you are not facing it alone. Call out to God, and he will answer you. You can trust him. He is with you in trouble.

Leave a Reply

